South America on the GS
Day 23 - Pest Control
December 5, 2011, 21:06
(5445km)

Today the journey brought me back into Chile. Compared to the entrance into Peru (4 hours) the way back was much faster (45 min). As I did not expect that I was early in Arica.



On my way from Arequipa to the border I was stopped once again by the SENASA.(They control the transport from fruits over the borders of the different Counties.)

I saw a bus beside me and expected that somebody wants to take a picture of the Bike. I was right. But it was not one of the passengers of the Bus it was the Control organization itself. Five guys standing around the Bike and discussing how much CC and cylinders and power. I agreed that they could have a picture - but as with the other travelers, I want a picture with the only lady in the team.



I am planning the next couple of days as I have to get the tires replaced in Santiago and I have to make the decision if I want to meet the Zierer’s in Cordoba Argentina. (A friend who moved to Australia a couple of years ago and is now on a big trip around the world).

I stay in the Surfhouse Hostal, nice place with real Inhouse parking. I drove through the breakfast room into the interior meeting area.



Try this the next time on your trip, ask for a room and a secure parking and if they say “no have” ask if you could put the bike in the brekfast area. :-)