South America on the GS
Day 27/28 - BORING PANAM
December 12, 2011, 02:14
(7445 km today 915km)

From Iquique I drove to Antofagasta stayed there over the weekend and today the journey ended in La Serena, though day with 10 ½ hours of driving.

Antofagasta is a busy little town with nothing really impressive to see. But anyway I have to stay somewhere when going south. The Route 5 is most of the time really boring..That you could also realize when you see the trucks beside the road - guess the driver felt also deadly boring.



Only some highlights while the long drive.



Like the Hand of the desert or the clouds coming from the pacific over the mountains. The impressive temperature drop from 28°C down to 14°C within a couple of minutes shows how the pacific could influence the climate here.



I have to be a little bit careful about my back tire as there is not much rubber left on the tire. Roughly 500km to Santiago in front of me. So I might stay one or two nights in La Serena or stay a night in Limache at the Cervezeria Tauss. Before going to Santiago to the BMW dealer for the replacement of the tire.